Working in Cyber Security: “Be bold and open-minded and anything is possible”

What is it like to work in cyber security? We ask some of the members of the team in Symantec. Today, we hear from Gillian Bell, Director, Systems Engineering.

Threat Intel
Threat Intel
3 min readOct 24, 2018

--

Gillian Bell is a Director of Systems Engineering, based at Symantec’s offices in Dublin, Ireland

How long have you been in this role?

I am working as part of this team for more than five years, having been part of the creation and foundation of the team and our Dublin-based Inside Sales organization.

How did you come to work in the field of cyber security?

I came into security purely by accident. I was working for another large multinational tech company in Dublin and got approached for this role. At the time I thought “Hmmm, security sounds interesting.” It wasn’t something I knew a lot about and I had never heard of Symantec before. As soon as I started researching I realized the potential and the importance working in security had on the world. Back then, not a lot of people knew what security was but now, with recent large-scale attacks, most people are aware and realize how important security is, not just to companies but also to them as individuals.

“I can honestly say this is the first time in my career where I feel truly bought into what we as a company are trying to achieve”

What advice would you give to someone who wants a job like yours?

Be bold and open-minded and anything is possible. It does take hard work and dedication, but I truly believe in the mission of what we are trying to achieve. Also, being a woman in IT I would strongly encourage women to look beyond the normal types of roles. Once they complete their degrees and education, seek out interesting and exciting opportunities. Don’t be afraid to apply even if you think you don’t have the skills; with the right mindset and focus you can achieve your goals. I can honestly say this is the first time in my career where I feel truly bought into what we as a company are trying to achieve.

I enjoy and relish coming to work every day. I look forward to what new fresh challenges will come my way, as inevitably they do with the ever-changing challenges we are faced with.

Is the course you studied at university relevant to the job you have now?

Absolutely nothing related to what I do now! I studied music and performing arts but quickly realized I loved tech and the possibilities that tech can have on shaping the world. I have worked in many different roles over the years, but I normally had a clear focus on what I wanted to achieve so would educate myself further to achieve those goals.

What do you think are three qualities someone who wants to work in a role like yours needs to have?

I look at myself as a fair leader, I want my team to be successful and support them on their career journey. Ultimately, my job as a leader is to support them. I would also add:

· Be true to yourself

· Always set yourself goals and challenges and strive to be the best you can be

· Most importantly, have some fun

Any other tips, advice, or anecdotes you would like to add?

I would strongly encourage women to come work in cyber security. Apply for a role if you feel you have some of the skills required, who knows what may happen! Honestly, this is a rewarding career and if there is anyone thinking of starting their careers or looking at making career changes please feel free to reach out for a chat to discuss.

Check out the Security Response blog and follow Threat Intel on Twitter to keep up-to-date with the latest happenings in the world of threat intelligence and cyber security.

Like this story? Recommend it by hitting the heart button so others on Medium see it, and follow Threat Intel on Medium for more great content.

--

--

Threat Intel
Threat Intel

Symantec’s Threat Hunter team brings you the latest threat intelligence from the IT security world.