1984: The Year In Top 40 Hits (Week 15: April 14, 1984)

The Go-Go’s, Madonna’s breakthrough hit, Slade, Kool and the Gang, and the week I became the nerdiest juvenile delinquent ever.

Stewart Mason
Three Imaginary Girls

--

Photo by Sylvia Yang on Unsplash

(Note: If you’re new here, you might want to read an introduction to this series to get caught up on what we’re doing. Glad you could make it.)

Once again, I’ve already written about all the songs in the Top 10. There were seven new entries this week, the highest being Van Halen’s “I’ll Wait” at #44. Serious question: who here knew that “I’ll Wait” was ever released as a single?

At #20, “Tonight” by Kool and the Gang

I’ve already written at some length about my love for Kool and the Gang, but honestly, “Tonight” is one of their weakest singles ever. The hit before it, “Joanna,” copped a more youthful and current style really well (so much that I thought it was a Debarge or Atlantic Starr single for ages). “Tonight” lifts the rock-guitar sound from Prince, Rick James, and “Beat It,” but doesn’t really do anything exciting with it.

What I thought about it then: Didn’t care for it, to the extent that I thought of it at all.

--

--

Stewart Mason
Three Imaginary Girls

From West Texas. In Boston. It’s mostly gonna be music, food, and cats.