1984: The Year In Top 40 Singles (Week #10: March 10, 1984)

Hall and Oates and Yes return, plus James Ingram and Michael McDonald, Howard Jones, and, apparently, David Bowie

Stewart Mason
Three Imaginary Girls

--

Photo by Grace Dadson on Unsplash

(Note: If you’re new here, you might want to read an introduction to this series to get caught up on what we’re doing. Glad you could make it.)

Okay, so this week, for the first time, we run into an issue that I had not anticipated when I started this project. See, although I started following the charts around the time that I first heard Casey Kasem on American Top 40 in 1978, I had forgotten just how slowly the charts moved before the Soundscan era started in 1991. So there’s a problem with this week’s Top 10: I’ve already written about all 10 songs in it!

So what I’m going to do on these weeks when there’s nothing left to write about in the Top 10 (this will happen again) is pick a second track from the chart’s lower reaches. That’s always where some of the most interesting stuff is happening anyway. Anyway, there were 10 new chart entries this week, the highest being Rick Springfield’s “Love Somebody” at #49.

At #17, “Adult Education” by Daryl Hall and John Oates

--

--

Stewart Mason
Three Imaginary Girls

From West Texas. In Boston. It’s mostly gonna be music, food, and cats.