Art Is Not a Luxury, it’s a Necessity

And how music, writing, and reading helped me regain my sense of self.

Matilda C.
Three Imaginary Girls

--

Painting of a vase of flowers
Photo by Europeana on Unsplash

Art has always played a big role my whole life. For as long as I can remember, I have been painting, drawing, singing, writing poetry, and so much more. Finding a vessel for my “big emotions” was crucial, and making art was the healthiest way to process what I was feeling.

However, internalized voices from my upbringing reminded me just how “useless” all of this was. The way to success and accomplishment was through the sciences and hard work. Processing your emotions meant that you had time to waste instead of grinding and working. My little paintings, my songs, the music I listened to: all hippie stuff for the wealthy, a luxury for those who didn’t have to earn a living (directly from my father’s mouth.)

Ethan Hawke explained to me why my dad was wrong just a minute into his TED talk.

Imagine you are living your daily life. You wake up and go to school/work. You take the bus, drive your car, hop on the bike. You have plans for your future, whether big or small. You rely on your logic and reason. Life is this thing you have control over. You are studying to become an engineer, or maybe you’re an engineer already. A doctor, a plumber, a professor. You are a necessary part of society; a…

--

--

Matilda C.
Three Imaginary Girls

I am deranged. I haven’t seen the 7 wonders. My bowels despise me. I write to try and make sense of it all. Questions?