Cover Songs, Betrayal, and Me

How Shaun Cassidy and David Bowie laid my musical foundation

Sarah Lazarz
Three Imaginary Girls

--

David Bowie in 1987 on the Glass Spiders tour. Photo by Jo Atmon and available via Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License Germany

What starts anyone on their musical journey? A cool older sibling, neighbor, or record store employee? If you’re lucky. Random turn of the radio dial? Maybe.

What music set me on my journey?

The cool answer is “Scary Monsters” by David Bowie (or more realistically, “Let’s Dance”). But the real answer is decidedly Shaun Cassidy.

The real, real answer, though, is cover songs.

Digging the scene

All my friends in 1977–78 were ravenous for the Grease and Saturday Night Fever soundtracks. I lusted after them in a way that was quite frankly scary.

Confronted with my begging and these choices at the record store one afternoon, my parents put their collective foot down. I was not going to be allowed to listen to such “suggestive” music as a tender eight-year-old. I was told I could buy a record, but not either of those.

I wandered away from my mom, who was most likely flipping through the Christmas records to find something for me.

Down an aisle, I spied a familiar name. One that I saw regularly on the credits for the “Hardy Boys Mysteries.” One that I already had an attachment to. One…

--

--

Sarah Lazarz
Three Imaginary Girls

Actively trying to get better at everything. Middle-aged, Midwest, middle school teacher, writer, cat lady. https://catscoffeeandwords.wordpress.com/