I Admire Ben Folds’ Faith in Love

I will always root for the five time divorcee whose broken heart helped put mine back together.

Steffany Ritchie
Three Imaginary Girls

--

Photo by Karol Carvalho: https://www.pexels.com/photo/person-wearing-ring-playing-piano-2285585/

The singer-songwriter/multi-instrumentalist extraordinaire Ben Folds once got me through a rough break up.

My boyfriend at the time introduced me to him. Back then we still exchanged mix tapes, although it was the dying days of the era.

I think he put “Kate”, “Song for the Dumped”, and “Selfless, Cold and Composed” (ok so maybe this guy was trying to tell me something all along!) on my tape.

Thankfully he didn’t put “Evaporated” on any, because when I eventually bought the excellent album Whatever and Ever Amen that one came in real handy in the depths of heartbreak.

Not long before I moved away Ben Folds came out with The Unauthorized Biography of Reinhold Messner. It had a much more somber, heartbreak on its sleeve quality that felt apt for where were at.

We knew that our relationship had a shelf life from the beginning, since I had always planned to move back to NYC after college.

We met the autumn after I graduated. We were young and naturally drawn together and mostly compatible, which was hard for me to find up until that moment in time. It was the first time I met…

--

--

Steffany Ritchie
Three Imaginary Girls

Nicheless. American in Scotland. Publisher of "Cancer Sucks, So Let's Talk About it More"