My Very First Rock Concert Experience (Because The Christian Rock One in Youth Group Does Not Count)

A classic rock first experience with the music and (cough) much more

Jen D. Clark
Three Imaginary Girls

--

Still from The Doobie Brothers “Listen To the Music” video

Growing up in Central Florida in the 1980s

Ah Orlando, Florida, that state where rich people come to skip paying taxes and an alligator or developer is within about 10 feet of you at all times. The very state where someone is on the news every day under the Florida Man moniker for dumb crimes, and where intelligent government goes to die. In Central Florida, the heart of all this silliness, there is a popular arena where many bands, comedians, performers and sports legends have been seen.

This arena has had many, many names. This corporate entity owned it, then this one, then another. For now, I will refer to it as the Orlando Arena, because when I attended my first semi rock concert, that’s what it was called.

I had just finished 10th grade. My best friend at the time was a music lover, and we had some similar tastes. She wasn’t quite as protected as I was, nor did she grow up in a religious household. I cannot remember if she got the tickets for my birthday, because the concert was the day after my birthday, or her older brother had to bail on them and gave…

--

--

Jen D. Clark
Three Imaginary Girls

Mom, writer since I wrote my complete autobiography at 7. I aspire to haunt the woods someday.