Say Sue Me at Madame Lou’s in Seattle

I waited 14 months to hear these songs live. It was worth it.

David Lee
Three Imaginary Girls
4 min readSep 2, 2023

--

Photo of young woman onstage with an electric guitar and a beer on a violet blue background.
Say Sue Me December 12, 2019. Photo by author.

I’m happiest when I see a band live playing songs from a new album and those songs have already been fully incorporated into my life. By the time I saw Say Sue Me play songs from The Last Thing Left, I’d waited 14 months and two days since the album release.

But that long wait just made seeing them better.

I last saw Say Sue Me on December 12, 2019, not long before shows disappeared. That was their final US show prior to the pandemic. I had tickets for their return May 2, 2022, but they postponed that show when COVID flared again. The rescheduled show for November 19, 2022 got cancelled after yet another outbreak. That just added to my excitement for their return to Seattle.

I’m so lucky to live in Seattle, home of KEXP. Hours before Say Sue Me played at Madame Lou’s, they played a set at KEXP. The 30 of us in attendance were told to remain silent until after the performance was complete, which was difficult given how great they sounded. Thankfully, my tears of joy were silent. That recording is here:

Say Sue Me live on KEXP August 2023

Like many Americans, my wife and I have taken to watching K-Dramas almost exclusively. I find the writing, direction, acting, music, and cinematography generally better than alternative streaming options. Say Sue Me wrote and performed the soundtrack “So Tender” for the Netflix show Nevertheless. I hope to hear them in more shows!

Many of the K-Dramas star actors also perform in K-Pop bands. Even better, their songs often play in the background during their scenes. I’m currently obsessed with songs from this genre of actor/singers. The tipping point was when I realized after many months that my favorite K-Drama song (“Inevitable” from Extraordinary Attorney Woo) was sung by my favorite actor Bae Suzy (from Gu Family Book, Vagabond, Start-Up, and others). How can anyone be so talented?

When listing to the songs from The Last Thing Left I associate the characters in the songs with those from K-Dramas. In part it’s because they all originate from Korea. But mostly it’s because the positive outlook of the songs match the plucky characters in the shows — at least for those mentioned above. It’s like having extended, complex backstories and music videos for the songs you love. The song “Around You” provides a perfect example. I just picture Choi Kang-chi and Dam Yeo-wool from Gu Family Book smiling and laughing in the face of great danger. Same for the song “We Look Alike.”

Say Sue Me were energetic as they tore through their mostly up-tempo set. The singer Sumi Cho often screamed between songs and leaned back to belt out vocals. I’m sure a lot of that was from pent-up energy after waiting years to return to the US — this was their first show back in the states. It was also because the songs were so good. Their songwriting somehow continues to improve, and they are fantastic live.

Between not seeing them in years, a fantastic new album, their powerhouse performance, and my inner connection between the songs and my K-Drama favorites, the night was pure joy. I’m still glowing from this show.

Photos from Say Sue Me’s July 15th, 2023 show at Madame Lou’s in Seattle. Photos by author. Full-resolution versions are here: Say Sue Me in Seattle | Flickr

Greetings from Three Imaginary Girls

Calling all fans of indie-pop, Brit-pop, lo-fi, and general music fun! Three Imaginary Girls is looking for writers and readers, and we’d love to have you join us. Come by and say hello!

--

--

David Lee
Three Imaginary Girls

Seattle software engineer, adverb, seeker of musical transcendence. he/him/cis/white/straight/old/ugly/dull