I Saw the Band “Because of that Song” in Shibuya

They were called あの歌のせい, which roughly translates to “Because of that Song.” April 26, 2024, CLUB QUATTRO, Shibuya, Japan

David Lee
Three Imaginary Girls
5 min readMay 6, 2024

--

Image posted by the group on social media. I am the white person on the right with a mask.

I recently had a free night while on vacation in Shibuya and wanted to take in a local rock show. My favorite Japanese band, Otoboke Beaver, had the week before played at Club Quattro. That venue was just a 10 minute walk from my hotel, so I bought a ticket for whatever group was playing that night.

The group was あの歌のせい, which roughly translates to “Because of that Song.” I wish I knew the name of their genre. It involves singing and dancing to a rocking, Pokémon-like soundtrack. I don’t know Japanese, but the songs seem earnest and heartfelt. Their music video is probably the best way to convey the vibe:

あの歌のせい — 原点歌 (Dance Practice MV)

The only substantial difference between the video and the live show is that they each hold wireless microphones in their left hands when performing. As you might notice in the video, their right arms are more active than the left.

Why was I in Shibuya? Ironically, it was because of that song. By Covet:

I listened to that song so many times I had to visit.

I absolutely loved the show. Their singing and dancing were fantastic. The crowd sang along and took in every second.

The experience was generally like going to a show in the US, but I noticed the following:

  • It took about 10 minutes to purchase the ticket online. I had to create an account, work with pages that were only in Japanese, and try a couple different payment options. There were tickets for free if you were willing to stand in the back. Or you could pay extra for early entry and be up front, which is so me.
  • Doors opened at 7:20 and the music started at 8:00. The venue was open 4:30 to 5:30 for merch sales. This is genius. I arrived at 4:45 and the line was a few dozen people long. The merch line after the show was very long.
  • Roughly half the attendees were there at 7:20 waiting to get in. There was no line. The bouncer at the door started calling out and each time 2 to 5 people would step forward past him into the venue. I speak no Japanese and had no idea when it’d be my turn to enter. I asked nearby people for help but nobody knew English. I walked up to the bouncer, showed him my ticket, and with hand motions he indicated I should wait. Then, a few minutes later, he motioned that I should enter.
  • In order to enter you had to by a 600 Yen ($3.90) drink ticket. Cash only.
  • At shows in the US, the PA generally plays songs chosen by the main act or a DJ before the show begins. It’s generally at volumes that make conversation difficult. At this show, the PA played the backing track for the group’s latest song on repeat at low volume. This started up again when the group was talking on stage and when the show completed.
  • One man who bought a shirt stripped and put it on in the pit. Aside from music festivals, that was a first for me.
  • Once the group came on stage, people put their phones away. Nobody captured photos or video. Not even the VIP. I generally take some photos at shows but didn’t that night. I don’t know if people did this for social or legal reasons, but I wasn’t going to be the first to take out my phone. The upside is that everyone was 100% engaged in the performance. It was magic.
  • The group member outfits were similar to each other, but each person had accents of blue, white, red, or pink.
  • There were no conversations in the crowd during the performance. Aside from singing along and cheering people were silent. It was a world better than the chatter at the Tractor Tavern.
  • People stood slightly further apart from each other than at shows in the US. This is interesting because every time I took the subway in Japan people were tightly packed.
  • Like shows back home, members of the group would make eye contact with people in the crowd. But this group would lock eyes for uncomfortably long, smile, and slow-wink. Japanese culture is generally reserved, so this was hilarious.
  • Off to stage right there was a reserved VIP section with about 30 people. I’m guessing they were family and friends. They were extremely well-dressed, well-groomed, and generally beautiful people. Most of the rest of the crowd was wearing either t-shirts or business suits, as if they came straight from work.
  • About a third wore masks, 40% were women, 10% had battery-powered glow sticks, most were in their 20’s or 30's, and exactly one person (me) was white. I didn’t see anyone consume more than one drink.
  • The bill indicated there would be a support group, but the main act came out at 8:00 and performed three songs. One of them left the stage and the other three talked to the crowd. A man who I assume was their manager came out up front in the photo pit and made the stretch motion with his hands to the group. They kept talking. He left, came back, and did it again. This repeated and the third time he brought merch that he threw on stage for the band to promote. He left again and on his fourth appearance indicated they should wrap it up. They left the stage and the member who previously had left came back on stage with two other people who were the support group. They performed three songs. I can only guess that the songs were covers because the crowd knew every word and call/response. Once they left the main act came back and performed three more songs.
  • When they were done performing, each member talked for a few minutes. It seemed like they were thanking the crowd. Two (blue and white) broke down in tears as they spoke. It was moving and the crowd was supportive.
  • One of the merch options was to purchase tickets to have Instax photos taken with group members at the “Special Event” following the show. I felt too out of place to do this, but seemingly everyone in the crowd purchased tickets to be with their favorite members. The next day photos of these prints were all over social media. Like Japan generally, most people posted on Twitter, not other platforms.

The show was joyous. 10/10. Would recommend. It achieved the best of what live music can be, and for those moments I felt at home in a far-away place.

--

--

David Lee
Three Imaginary Girls

Seattle software engineer, adverb, seeker of musical transcendence. he/him/cis/white/straight/old/ugly/dull