The Beastie Boys at The Academy, NYC ‘94

Music is very much the soundtrack of our lives.

M.J. Flood
Three Imaginary Girls

--

A musical band performing on stage in silhouette.
Photo by Rod Long on Unsplash

On May 27, 1994, my buddy Owen called me on the phone and asked me if I wanted to go in to the City to see a show. He explained that the Beastie Boys would be playing at the Academy under a false name. I don’t remember what the false name was, maybe Polly Wog Stew? This might make sense since Polly Wog Stew was the name of the Beasties’ first album. But it doesn’t matter.

I was skeptical. I told Owen that I didn’t want to go all the way in just to find out it was a hoax.

“You got anything better to do?”

I admitted that I didn’t and met him at the train station.

When we arrived at the Academy box office, the place was already mobbed. An energy like five thousand kids keeping a secret was buzzing on that Manhattan sidewalk.

Eye witness reports skipped around like nut-hunting squirrels. Who saw MCA at a diner down the street? Who saw Adrock at the corner store? Who saw Mike D slip into the back door of The Academy? Who was a friend of a friend of a friend of Kate Shellenbach who all but admitted Luscious Jackson would be playing with the Boys? The legend grew: The Beasties were in town.

--

--

M.J. Flood
Three Imaginary Girls

Educator. Writer. Author of “Where Are You? Finding Myself in My Greatest Loss” a memoir of grief and healing.