The First Time I Heard a Hard Rock Song, It Was a Record I Stole

Well, I took it from my Dad, if that counts.

Jen D. Clark
Three Imaginary Girls

--

Photo by Eric Krull on Unsplash

A bit about me in 1983

I was such a good girl. My grades were often straight As; I went to church and memorized lots of Bible verses in Sunday School. I wanted to be good, as it brought positive attention in a religious, conservative household.

Now, I wasn’t all prissy, prim, and proper. I played with the boys in the neighborhood, planning water balloon wars, climbing trees, doing pranks. I would stealthily trespass on some of the big properties near my neighborhood because of a creek that ran through them where I collected bones, minerals and pressed different flowers to learn their names.

So, I was a good girl with a healthy dose of curiosity. I loved history, writing, and science a little TOO much for the other 6th graders I went to school with. Dork alert.

Yet, I had a little criminal streak as well.

By criminal streak, I mean I would watch non-bullying crimes being committed by my fellow peers, and I would think, “Why didn’t they just do it this way, so they wouldn’t get caught?”

How I did the crime

--

--

Jen D. Clark
Three Imaginary Girls

Mom, writer since I wrote my complete autobiography at 7. I aspire to haunt the woods someday.