The Week I Got to Experience Real and Practical Magic

“Witch, Witch, you’re a witch!”

Alex Lockhart
Three Imaginary Girls
3 min readOct 27, 2023

--

The author as an extra in Practical Magic. Photo from author.
The author as an extra in Practical Magic. Photo from author.

I tried out to be an extra in Practical Magic at 10 years old, along with hundreds of other kids across Skagit and Island County. I remember I had to wait in line for a few hours, until I finally got my chance to taunt the cameraman and throw rocks like a bully. (We actually had to say a swear word that rhymed with *witch* in the auditions, but resistance from parents ultimately got the line changed in the film.)

Once the week of filming came around in sleepy Coupeville, Washington, I had my little green backpack on and I had to ride my bike up a hill for the scene what felt like 100 times. In a moment where Sandra Bullock’s character, Sally Owens is in her beautiful apothecary, her children are outside getting bullied by the locals for being a witch. I ride my bike down the hill, join into the crowd and right as Sally’s oldest points her finger and curses the group with chicken pox — her finger points directly at me and the camera captures my hilarious attempt at fear and surprise!

Being an extra was pure kid joy.

In another scene, I had to hangout in front of an ice cream truck while the Detective (Aidan Quinn) interviewed locals about the Owens sisters. I had to eat at least 10 different ice cream bars, a new bar for every retake of the scene, for consistency of course. When we weren’t filming that week, the kids were doing homework in the upstairs of the local tavern, so excited to have written permission to not be in school for a WHOLE WEEK. My dad was also an extra in the movie, and took home one of Aiden Quinn’s characters jackets and even held a coat for Nicole Kidman while she completed a scene!

I now go back to Coupeville, and I still feel the magic in the air.

This weekend the town is celebrating the 25th anniversary of the movie, and I can’t wait to be surrounded by the magic again, and maybe even reconnect with some fellow movie extras.

The author as an extra in Practical Magic.
The author as an extra in Practical Magic.
On the set of Practical Magic. Photos from author.

Greetings from Three Imaginary Girls

Calling all fans of indie-pop, Brit-pop, lo-fi, and general music fun! Three Imaginary Girls is looking for writers and readers, and we’d love to have you join us. Come by and say hello!

--

--

Alex Lockhart
Three Imaginary Girls

Singer Songwriter- Cumulus / Technical Recruiter in Games