Music

We Used To Be Friends

As I’ve grown older, one of my favorite bands lost its luster.

Bill Cooper
Three Imaginary Girls
6 min readMar 24, 2024

--

It’s not quite the iconic banana on “Welcome to the Monkey House,” but close enough. Photo by Mockup Graphics on Unsplash

One of the most well-known Dandy Warhols songs is “We Used To Be Friends.” Many know it as the theme song to the early 2000s show Veronica Mars. On a personal note though, the lyrics, “A long time ago, we used to be friends, but I haven’t thought of you lately at all,” capitalize on a particular feeling that struck me while seeing them perform in 2024.

But, I’m getting ahead of myself. I need to go back to when this band and I had a different relationship.

“A long time ago…”

In high school around 2010, I was really into the Dandy Warhols. Although Thirteen Tales from Urban Bohemia was the primary CD that looped endlessly in my car, it wasn’t the only one. Both Welcome to the Monkey House and The Dandy Warhols Come Down, other releases from the band, would often guest star.

I felt like the band spoke to me specifically as a young adult. They had all these aspects I didn’t even know I wanted —…

--

--