What Is My ‘Alter Ego’ Band?

And what does that question even mean? All will be revealed, I promise

Matthew Clapham
Three Imaginary Girls

--

If this is me, who are they? (Photo by Laura Wielo on Unsplash)

Who hasn’t dreamed of strutting their stuff on a festival stage in front of thousands of adoring fans? Either in our sleep, or in some idle moment as we rock out to an Alexa-curated medley while pushing a vacuum cleaner around the house. Possibly dressed as Freddie Mercury.

But if we were magically transformed into a musical act, who would that collective alter ego be?

The obvious answer would simply be the top-of-your-head response to the question ‘what’s your favourite band?’ But in my newly created Jungian mythology of musical alignment, that isn’t really the same thing at all.

Depending on which day of the week you ask me that ‘fave’ question, and whether the sun is in the seventh house, I may well blurt out ‘New Model Army’, the savagely soulful post-punk folk rockers from Northern England who inspired such devotion in my teenage years that I bought a pair of wooden-soled clog boots just to fit in at their gigs¹.

But New Model Army weren’t me.

‘Well, obviously. Duh!’ you might say.

What I mean is that they didn’t actually reflect the true essence of who I am as a person, and where I come from. They were grittier and…

--

--

Matthew Clapham
Three Imaginary Girls

Professional translator by day. Writer of silly and serious stuff by night. Also by day, when I get fed up of tedious translations. Founder of Iberospherical.