What’s Unforgettable?

Somehow I narrowed down decades of concerts to five.

Sarah Lazarz
Three Imaginary Girls

--

Photo by Luuk Wouters on Unsplash

I am fully unable to rank a “best-of” list for anything. Not books, not restaurants, nothing. I’ve tried to narrow down the live music shows I’ve been to into a top-ten or something but inevitably, the list changes the next day, or I remember another show that was amazing for reasons I had totally forgotten… then the list is too long to even contemplate let alone write about.

For a variety of reasons, each unique unto themselves, these are a few of the most memorable shows I’ve been to, in no kind of order.

GWAR

photo credit: Tiffany Rose/WireImage/Getty Images

Stage theatrics. The most theatrical stage theatrics. You can keep your laser light shows, backup dancers, revolving stages, and wire work over the audience. None of that, no matter how well thought out and choreographed, can hold a candle to GWAR.

For the uninitiated, this is GWAR. And my first time seeing them, I was only mildly warned by a friend to either stay clear of the stage or bring a poncho. I had heard a few songs, but otherwise I was not an aficionado of theirs.

--

--

Sarah Lazarz
Three Imaginary Girls

Actively trying to get better at everything. Middle-aged, Midwest, middle school teacher, writer, cat lady. https://catscoffeeandwords.wordpress.com/