Real-Time Discussion About This New Publication

We might as well put our AMC A-List memberships to good use.

Shelby Rogers
Three, Two, One, Play
4 min readFeb 11, 2020

--

The following is a real-time discussion I (Shelby Rogers: content writer, movie lover, Jane Austen reader, marathon runner, constant napper) had with Hamilton Barber (also a writer, also a movie lover, Stephen King reader, definitely-not-a-runner, and my significant other).

Hamilton: So is the idea “Shelby and Hamilton talk about movies”? Just kind of in general?

Shelby: Yeah. Movies we’re seeing together. Movies we watch separately and review (either together or separately). Our different takes on movies. Predictions for awards seasons. That kind of stuff.

We naturally do this anyway when we call each other after seeing something good or bad. It makes sense, right?

Ham: Gosh I love this so much. It’s Birth.Movies.Death but we’re not filmmakers or in any way industry-adjacent. Just people who like movies and like talking about them. And I think we both have different stuff we look for in what makes something good, so there are enough angles to make some really interesting content.

Shelbs: Exactly. Like my hype list has so much superhero/Disney stuff on it, but I know yours will look very different. I think the only movie (or three) we’d share would be Tenet and New Mutants and A Quiet Place 2.

H: I’m so down for this idea. I think it might be worthwhile to write a kind of “where we’re coming from” when it comes to “reviewy” stuff, too. Like, if I’m a visitor to this site, I would know automatically when I’m reading a Shelby review that this is sort of the framework she’s operating from, what sorts of things she values, etc. So if I naturally align more with the way she sees movies, I will be able to look at her as a vanguard for something I value.

S: Like “I’m Shelby, I love Disney and animation and creature creation and body horror movies and good murder mysteries and anything with Chris Evans”?

H: Oh, see, I wasn’t even thinking “preferences,” I was thinking “this is what I consider to be ‘good.’ Whether it’s horror or comedy, that doesn’t matter, this is my standard.” Because I like Disney, animation, storytelling, etc., also. And there will be overlap, obviously.

S: I also think we need a quick background on why we started the publication. Because I think this could be for us just as much as it would be for whoever reads the reviews or our content.

H: ^^yes! This is really unique. I like it a lot.

S: I mean, you started dating me shortly after we Facetimed watching Jurassic Park. Or at least after that, I realized I might like you.

H: And a conversation about Black Panther (specifically Michael B Jordan) kicked [us talking again] all off.

I MEAN, COME ON.

S: Okay so we’re doing this?

H: Yes. I’ve wanted a space to write about movies anyway, and I want to do it with you. That sounds amazing.

S: Idea: What if we just kind of used what we wrote about in discussing if we should do this…?

And then just assigned our names to what we wrote. We can flesh out the body copy together. I think that would be the most natural thing to do.

H: Hahaha! That’s actually an incredible idea. And the content is there already.

S: I’ll be sure to include the MBJ / Black Panther images… for… context.

H: Right. MBJ. For context. Of course.

S: What should we call the publication? Something with Film in the title? Cinema? Movies? Should we reference us dating and make it a “couples channel” kind of thing?

H: I’m not sure if “couples channel” would work — because I feel like we both have really valid opinions about this stuff and “couples channels” have a lot of preconceived ideas just kind of swimming around them already. I like that it’s *about* movies and talking about them, but the thing is that we’re doing it together. Like, it’s not *about* a couple’s blog; it’s a couple talking about movies, and doing it in a space where they’re both doing it together.

^^IN MY OPINION. You might have a different idea. It’s kind of your idea baby.

S: No, no, those are fair points! Because we have two very different opinions of movies sometimes (AHEM HEREDITARY) and just because we’re dating doesn’t mean we share a brain.

H: HEREDITARY GANG FOR LIFE

S: Noooooooooooooo stop it.

That’s right! We’re finally doing what people have asked us to do for years: movie reviews.

Granted, Hamilton and I have been asked our thoughts on movies separately, but we normally wind up seeing the same movies — and often walk away with very different takes on the same film.

Movies seem a weird integral part of our long-distance relationship, too. We watched Jurassic Park, and Hamilton quickly realized I was a crazy raptor mom. Our first date in person? Hereditary. Our second date (which I made Hamilton pay for because Hereditary scared me so bad)? Incredibles 2.

To date, every weekend we’ve spent together in person has involved going to a movie theater and watching something new.

And those weeks/months we go without being able to see each other in person? We have movie nights, holding up our phones so the other can see our reaction.

The title “Three, Two, One, Play” comes from our FaceTime-driven date nights. One of us needs to use the bathroom or get more chips and salsa? “BABE, PAUSE!” And when we’re ready to resume? “Okay okay okay, I’m ready. Three, two, one, aaaaand play.”

We’re not professional critics. We’re not involved in the film industry. We both love quality storytelling through cinema; it’s that simple.

--

--

Shelby Rogers
Three, Two, One, Play

Orlando-based Content Marketing Strategist // Sometimes I write the funny things. Sometimes I write the serious things.