5 Questions to Ask Yourself in the Mirror

Araxe Hajian
Thrive Global
Published in
4 min readDec 11, 2017

Having a conversation with yourself might seem odd, but it can help you reflect and focus on your life’s journey and even give you better ways to take care of yourself as you go about your daily activities. Consider starting each day by gazing into a mirror with these questions from beauty guru Keke Cargill Cifferello:

  1. What is my intention for today?

We have the power to align our faces with our intentions every single day. Notice the thoughts and feelings that are showing up in your expression. Does the image before you reflect your inner purpose? The mirror can be your best tool for matching your true intention with the face you present to the world.

2. Am I truly seeing myself?

Looking in the mirror can be so much more than just checking to see if we have food in our teeth. Go beyond that. So often we look into the mirror and we don’t see ourselves. Practice being mindful of what you really need for yourself each day. What do you see in this moment? Maybe you got a good night’s sleep and don’t need all that concealer and foundation you might have needed yesterday.

3. How does my heart feel?

When you wake up in the morning, your attitude can set the tone for the rest of your day. Think about how you are feeling and how you would like to feel: Good? Bad? Beautiful? Fierce? Fabulous? You have the power to consciously create the face you put forward.

Sometimes texture can translate or transform our whole mood. “When I’m feeling happy,” says Keke, “I reach for my Tom Ford Sahara Pink Lip Lacquer.” Some days Keke feels the need for a matte Ruby Woo lipstick. “I wear it on a day that demands confidence,” Keke maintains. “If I’m giving a speech I will wear that matte fierce red lip. it’s bold and brave.” Red lipstick can really deliver a message because it grabs people’s attention.

4. What will I do to nourish myself today?

It’s really about checking in with yourself. For example, we can nourish ourselves simply by analyzing our skin. Keke says, “I am an esthetician, so I understand that our skin tells a story about us, everything we feel, how much water we need.” She suggests simple reminders like, “When I get home, I’m going to put on that Sisley Black Rose Cream Mask to revitalize my skin because I’m missing that glow.” Having an idea of what you want your skin to look like could tell you everything about what it needs. In the same way, knowing what you need to create who you want to become can answer the question of how you can nourish yourself.

5. Am I rushing through this moment?

Sit in front of a mirror, not to pick yourself apart, but to observe yourself and slow yourself down for a moment. Create a ritual and participate in it.

“One of the things I loved about representing Tom Ford,” Keke reminisces, “was listening to him talk about his mother getting dressed when he was a child. He would sit and watch as she sat in front of her dressing table, putting on her red lipstick. He described being unable to break away from that stare because it was so captivating to watch her be so in tune with herself.”

It’s important, Keke reminds us, to model self-love for our loved ones, too. It’s not about narcissism or self-absorption — it’s more about taking care of yourself, valuing your inner beauty, and holding yourself dear. By seeing our own reflection with honesty, love, and compassion, we can reveal ourselves to others as we would like to be seen.

MindMeet Keke

December 7, 2017

Originally published at journal.mindmeet.us on December 7, 2017.

--

--