“5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Ran For Office”, With Jon Cardin Maryland Legislative Candidate

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global
Published in
7 min readMar 21, 2018

--

I had the pleasure of interviewing, former delegate and candidate for the 11th district of Maryland, Jon Cardin

Yitzi: Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory”?

I grew up in a family uniquely dedicated to public service in Maryland. In the legislature, I sat in a seat formerly occupied by my uncle, Senator Ben Cardin, great uncle, Delegate Maurice Cardin, and grandfather, the Honorable Judge Meyer Cardin. With no lack of powerful role-models around the table at weekly family dinners, I learned early the value of humility and service — principles that continue to guide his life and work today. I earned a Juris Doctor with Honors from the University of Maryland School of Law in 2001; received a Master’s degree in Policy and Public Administration from the University of Maryland, Baltimore County and a Master’s degree with Honors in Judaic Studies from Baltimore Hebrew University (now at Towson University), both in 1996. My Bachelor’s degree in International Relations from Tufts University was earned in 1992 and I am a 1988 alumnus of The Park School. Prior to studying law, I was recruited as executive director of The Project Judaica Foundation in Washington, DC and before that I began my career teaching Spanish…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator