5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Started Acting: Gemma Forbes, From The Truth About Lies

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global
Published in
5 min readNov 14, 2017

--

“When I was younger, I thought I had all the time in the world. I remember when I was working at the Living Theatre, and one of my mentors there said, “There is no substitute for time” This really resonated with me. You have to make the time for the things you want to achieve.”

I had the pleasure of speaking to Gemma Forbes, whom you can see in the award-winning independent comedy, The Truth About Lies. She stars in the film opposite Odette Annable and Fran Kranz, and the film is directed by Phil Allocco. Prior to The Truth About Lies, Gemma was most recently seen in the comedy, Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life, opposite Lauren Graham and directed by Steve Carr. Originally hailing from Scotland, the actress spent time modeling in London and Scotland before moving to New York City.

We’d love to learn more about your career, please tell us how you got into acting.

I’ve always been interested in acting, and although I studied drama at college after leaving school, it wasn’t until I was participating in an acting workshop in NYC that I…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator