5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me When I First Started Acting: Kandyse McClure of Battlestar Galactica

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global
Published in
6 min readNov 14, 2017

--

“The best you can be is your most authentic self. You are a bad copy of everyone else.”

I had the pleasure to speak to Kandyse McClure, a phenomenal actress originally from Durban, South Africa that you may recognize as ‘Anastasia Dualla’ in SyFy’s “Battlestar Galactica”, as well as ‘Dr. Clementine Chasseur’ in Netflix’s “Hemlock Grove” and ‘Sarikin’ in Seventh Son. You can watch her on SyFy’s newest series, “Ghost Wars” every Thursday at 10/9c.

We’d love to learn more about your career, please tell us how you got into acting.

Right out of high school, I got cast in Athol Fugard’s “Valley Song”, his first post-apartheid play. The call originally came for my mom, who said maybe you would want to speak to my daughter. The role was really playing myself, a 17-year-old girl from South Africa dreaming of being a star. I booked an agent from that run of the show, and he’s been my agent ever since.

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator