“Always Be Genuine With People” Words of Wisdom with Actor and Producer Justin Michael Woods

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global
Published in
4 min readMar 15, 2018

--

I had the pleasure to interview Justin Michael Woods. Justin is an actor and producer, known for Sully (2016), The Dark Knight Rises (2012) and New Year’s Eve (2011).

What is your backstory?

Where do I begin? Since I was a young boy I’ve always had aspirations to have a successful career in entertainment industry. School plays, showcases you name it as a child I was in it. During high school I got extremely serious about my acting career and I started to apply to Juilliard and the American Academy for dramatic arts along with many other acting conservatories in New York City. Once my parents found out what I was doing they made it their mission to change my mind and unfortunately under the pressure, I buckled and did what they so desperately wanted me to do at that time. Which was to attend a regular university and get a regular degree so that I can work a regular job… During my time at the university I felt this aching feeling, knowing in my mind I am not doing what I wanted or needed to be doing. I wanted to break away, but how? I ended up joining the Army. Looking back, I have no regrets but in retrospect no one should ever feel that perpetual “I’ve got to get out of here!” Feeling or be pushed to make radicle decisions such as that. Again, no…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator