Anisa Nandaula: “Don’t Listen to Lips Whose Ear’s Have Never Heard the Call to Greatness.”

Why You Should Never Sacrifice Your Reality for Relatability.

Duku
Thrive Global
3 min readJun 10, 2017

--

Anisa Nandaula is an 18 years old Ugandan Law and politics student who was raised in Australia. Anisa is a spoken word poet and event organiser who has a passion for social justice, politics and words.

1. Humble Beginnings

Q: How did you get started and what or who inspired and empowered you to?

I have been writing my whole life as writing was always something that came naturally and brought me a genuine kind of happiness. However I turned it into a job after I entered my first competition 6 months ago and was fortunate enough to become the runner up at the National Australian Poetry slam. This not only gave me confidence but opened up many door ways for me.



Q: What unique and creative strategies if any did you use when you were first getting started?

The first strategy that I used was making poetic lines out of anything and everything as I walked home from work, university and practically anywhere. I would walk around talking to myself about the trees I walked passed, the clouds above me, the ground beneath my feet and try to make it rhyme. I tried role playing and creating characters to find different ways to say things.

2. Mindset

Q: What mindset distinguished you from others who were doing the same thing? How did you develop it?

My mindset when it came to poetry and life in general was I would never sacrifice my reality for relatability. Everything I say and do comes directly from my heart and soul because that is the only way I can truly express. I developed this by getting to know myself, the things I care about and allowing this to drive me.

3. What is your definition of success?

My definition of success is leaving the world knowing it is now a slightly better place because I existed.

4. Failure

Q: What do you think is the main reason why some people face failure when going after their vision?

I think people forget that no one has to see your vision but you. Your vision and goal are not for other people’s eyes to see because they aren’t meant for them. So when people put them down or tell them their dreams aren’t realistic they listen to
lips whose ears have never heard the call to greatness. I think people need to trust in themselves and the vision before trusting anyone else.

5. What is the best piece of advice you have received or came across and would like to share with everyone?

I remember asking a poet who I looked up to how I can make it. How can I become a better poet and tour the world. His reply to me was “ I had to do 100 shows a year”. He told me it wouldn’t be easy, consistency and hard work is the only to make it happen. This is interchangeable to anything, hard work comes second to none. Something I’m still tryng to practice.

To view Anisa’s work and get in contact with her visit www.anisananduala.com

If you enjoyed this story, hit the heart button to drive in more people to read about Anisa’s amazing story. Don’t forget to follow me to read more amazing stories from amazing people.

Connect with Duku Fore

Website: http://dukuinspires.com/

LinkedIn: https://au.linkedin.com/in/dukufore

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dukuinspires/

--

--

Duku
Thrive Global

Duku has been recognised by and inspired the United Nations, World Bank and Humanitarian Affairs just to name a few. dukuinspires.com