Insights On How To Be A Spiritual Warrior and Conquer The Music Business With Bronco

Keith Cullen
Thrive Global
Published in
4 min readSep 18, 2018

There is this common concept that those who are heavily involved in the music industry cannot also, be mentally and spiritually healthy. Since most of the artist time is consumed by crafting music or playing at shows, it’s easy to believe self-care isn’t part of their agenda. But, what if an artist did incorporate spirituality into their busy lifestyle? Wouldn’t the outcome of their workflow and lifestyle only better? If you’re looking to concur the music business, know that you can and also, be a spiritual warrior.

Meet Rock n Roll artist Bronco based in Los Angeles, California. The young singer is living proof of what its like to incorporate practices that assist with emotional and mental health into his daily presence. Bronco is like any other person with personal struggles that life tends to throw at us. Nonetheless, he speaks up how he takes those lessons and applies it to himself on and off stage.

Bronco via Instagram

What stage are you in your career and how long have you been creating music?

I’ve been hunkered down in studios for the last couple years getting these songs on a record, and this is now the surfacing phase. It’s a bit trippy to be out and of the world again. I went from very focused introspection and essentially isolation to now experiencing human interaction and the world in full color/3D in all its chaos.

What was the moment the group realized you had to pursue music as a career?

In kindergarten, we were assigned to draw a picture of what we wanted to be when we grew up. My classmates had drawn doctors in lab coats with stethoscopes, and school teachers with rulers pressed against boards. I, however, drew Tina Turner in a smudgy, red crayon holding a microphone over her head. I was asked to redo the assignment, of course. My teacher felt that I didn’t understand the project. The real conscious moment was in film school; I had realized my fear of stepping into my truth had led me to the periphery of music-claiming to want to be a music video director. One day, I just threw my hands up and dove into music.

Based on where you are now can you describe what the journey has been like to date?

Intense. Deciding to be truthful to my spirit, and listen to the whispers forced me into a very raw experience. It was like the moment I made my decision life fast-tracked these lessons to build a storyteller out of me. A divine moment after a divine moment began to stack and here we are. And, divine moments does not always mean enjoyable, by the way, although I’ve experienced pure joy when I least expected it.

How important do you think it is to balance your spiritual life with your career?

Balance is the goal.

Bronco via Instagram

I’ve never once in my life felt balanced, but being connected spiritually (even for fleeting moments) is essential. I do not think our physical bodies and minds can withstand this experience very long without that stream from something greater coming.

What kind of challenges have you faced before where you work could have interfered with your spirituality?

There’s a massive conflict in being an authentic storyteller and having to navigate the ego through business, self-promotion, competition, and the glossy appeal of what is physically attractive by social standards. So, those whispers from the universe serve me as a guiding light when the trip starts feeling like a f**ked up fun house.

How have you been able to overcome those challenges?

I haven’t overcome this at all. I can have moments of clarity and peace when I stay aware that I’m participating in an illusion.

What kind of practices do you partake in regards to spirituality that assist you personally and with your career?

Creating music. The songs that come to me are ultimately my prayers and affirmations. The process is very similar to confession or journaling. Before and after I get into these songs, performing or writing, I meditate and allow for the murky water to settle so that I do not let the problematic experiences that incubated them to mess me up.

For an artist who is looking to learn how to balance those aspects, what suggestions do you have?

Ask the questions, ask for help, ask for guidance from the people around you, and from something more significant. I’m still seeking balance, still trying to lock down the hard facts of spirituality although I currently believe the hard facts don’t exist. Why should they? Spirit doesn’t need rules to operate.

What’s the inspiration for your music? Are there any messages you’re trying to relay?

Vulnerability inspires me- snot-nosed, sweaty handshakes, and weakness inspires me. I believe that we work so hard to cover up our vulnerability when it’s our only currency.

Listen to “Did You Suffer” by Bronco:

Follow Bronco: Instagram

--

--

Keith Cullen
Thrive Global

LA Based Irish Singer/Songwriter. Founding artist at @Steereo. Passionate about health & wellness.