“Be Unapologetically Authentic” 5 Insider Tips With Author Nikki Barua

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global
Published in
6 min readJun 1, 2018

--

“Be unapologetically authentic: You can’t unlock your full potential if you don’t embrace all parts of yourself. Be the hero of your own story.”

I had the pleasure of interviewing Nikki Barua, a leading woman entrepreneur who is the founder and CEO of BeyondCurious — an award winning digital transformation consultancy that helps companies like Toyota, Sonos and Miami Heat unlock growth and innovation. She is also the bestselling author of Beyond Barriers, a book that inspires readers to turn adversity into opportunity. Nikki is a motivational speaker who shares her expertise in transformation with audiences around the world. She has been featured in national media including Forbes and Fortune.

What is your “backstory”?

I was a young girl from India who came to the United States in 1997. I had admission to business school, terribly unfashionable clothes in a suitcase, and $250 in my wallet. The first thing I realized was I am not one of them. I am an immigrant, minority, woman, and gay. As the poster child of diversity, I was clearly different. So, I did the only sensible thing I could think of: I imitated the people around me in the hopes of fitting in. My fear of not being…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator