Picture from Garden of the Gods

Do the same frustrating situations keep repeating themselves’ in your life?

Bethany Londyn
Thrive Global
Published in
4 min readJul 18, 2018

--

Ever wonder why you keep attracting specific people with similar circumstances or needs to yours? It might be for a reason- to teach you and take you to that next level! Similar to any video game, it’s about learning how to conquer the challenges and obstacles that keep confronting until you “win”, and then you’re on to the next level. The next level could be more difficult, yet once you get the hang of being fully aware of these obstacles or challenges, it won’t feel that way!

One fun example I’d like to share with you is about when I first started this new era of online dating, or shall now we say “picture swiping” for matches. Initially, I only matched with people I wasn’t that attracted to. This obviously wasn’t what I had intended and the lack of responses from people I was interested in, only discouraged me. I shared this frustration with a friend and she mentioned without hesitancy that I wasn’t seeing myself as hot, sexy, beautiful, and attractive, therefore I was attracting my mirrors- people I didn’t feel were that hot, sexy, beautiful, and attractive either. Well being all about personal growth, I understand that we will attract people that reflect qualities and traits that we portray, and subconsciously think about ourselves.

Knowing this, I immediately paused all dating to work on honoring and acknowledging my personal beauty. I worked on an appreciation of self, owning and loving my body, saying “I love you“ as I looked into my eyes in the mirror and saying positive affirmations until I was feeling fully in love with who I am and confident in what I stand for.

When I embraced ME, which probably took about a month or so, I went back to picture swiping. Lo and behold, I excitedly noticed a huge shift in the matches. It was a new caliber of men.

This illustrates an example of how negative emotions affect interactions with others- in real life or virtually. The trend of attracting the wrong type of matches for dating had to do with me needing to re-learn the lesson of owning my personal beauty. Once I accepted the lesson and moved through the frustration of what I was experiencing previously, I opened myself up to a whole new experience.

Here’s a version of an example I hear often- “People always bring me down or seem like they are out to get me!” You can simply turn this into a lesson of self-fulfillment. How can you work on yourself to lift yourself so high that these individuals can’t break you down? Next thing you know you’ll have new people surrounding you that only build you up!

Another personal example of a lesson learned was with real estate clients. I noticed that I attract many that are in specific transitions of their lives and that I’m not there only to help them buy or sell a home, but to be there energetically to add love and compassion to their life.

At first, it was extremely frustrating because I was finding my clients to be overly emotional and dramatic. When I started to notice the trend, I realized that for some of them it’s been a long journey to this point of their transition. I attracted these beautiful people as clients because I knew how to support them in a different way from other Real Estate Agents.

Once I recognize the need to shift my interaction with them to compassion, they share how much of a “Godsend” I was and how I brought peace to them and they felt more relaxed working with me. I also noticed that our journey of working together went from chaotic to zen and harmony, which in itself is a beautiful transition.

It’s all about stepping out and looking at the situations from another angle to see the trends. I was struggling with these particular clients and then I meditated on it to understand the lesson of what I was there to support. When I figured it out, all these beautiful souls have turned into blessings on blessings. I am here to support transitions whether it’s through real estate, writing, art, or speaking. I understand this as my purpose now, yet it’s been a long road to recognize it.

There are so many trends to dissect with work, family, and friend relationships. Challenges and obstacles. Some people come into money and immediately lose it, look at the statistics on lottery winners. Others may start businesses that keep failing, or find themselves in an abusive relationship pattern, and until they learn the errors aka lessons of their ways this frustrating cycle continues.

It’s about taking that trend, becoming aware of it, and then analyzing it from an outside perspective. Take yourself up to that 10,000-foot view so that you can shift the perspective and figure out the lesson that is there for you to receive. Lean into the lesson as there is a bright shiny nugget of gold for you in each difficult situation!

Not that you’ll fully understand your purpose right away, yet understanding the trends get you through those challenging times. By taking a repetitive situation and taking a moment to understand it, you can then energetically take personal responsibility for creating change. This first step is the most powerful!

Call To Action

If you are struggling to accomplish your goals, and feel like you have tried everything, yet nothing seems to be working.

If you’re still having trouble finding the reasons behind your challenges and trends you can also book alignment-healing-blessing-coaching-strategy sessions via BethanyLondyn.com

Click here for WHY you are getting nowhere!

--

--

Bethany Londyn
Thrive Global

Supporting Business Owners in Navigating Uncertainties Intuitively | 2X Revenues & 5X Success | Author | https://bethanylondyn.com/mobile