“Dream Big. You’ll Never Reach A Goal You Don’t Set.”

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global
Published in
7 min readMar 22, 2018

--

Words of Wisdom with Katlin Smith, founder and CEO of Simple Mills

I had the pleasure of interviewing Katlin Smith, founder and CEO of Simple Mills, a pioneer in the ‘clean food’ space. In just four years in business, Simple Mills has catapulted to success with the #1 best-selling natural baking mix, #1 best-selling natural cracker, and #2 best-selling natural cookie in the market.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory”?

I’m a poster child for the positive effects of clean eating. I had suffered from chronic joint pain and frequent colds since high school, and a friend suggested I try eliminating highly processed foods and allergens like wheat to see if that helped. My pain and colds went away, I suddenly had more energy, and I decided that other people could benefit from following a whole foods diet. I realized that none of the baking mixes on the grocery shelf had the kind of clean label I was looking for — I wanted to not only be able to pronounce what I was reading on the ingredient lines but visualize them in their whole form as well. Also, I was looking to eliminate those things that my body didn’t tolerate well such as gluten, grains, soy, GMOs, excessive sugar, or anything…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator