“Each Level You Climb Will Always Require You To Work Harder Than Ever” 5 Insider Tips With Johnnie Mikel

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global
Published in
9 min readJun 4, 2018

--

Photo Courtesy of Johnnie Mikel

I recently had the pleasure of interviewing upcoming pop artist, Johnnie Mikel. The “Friday Night” singer discusses his inspirations, best lessons, and what’s next for him!

What is your backstory?

I’m a 20-year-old pop artist originally from a small town in Kentucky. I grew up in a close family surrounded by a lot of creativity. I was always interested in all forms of art and expression. Honestly, I was extremely shy as a kid, but writing is where I found a place to release everything I was feeling and thinking. From an early age, I began jotting down pretty deep poems, short stories, journal entries, etc. It just felt so natural! At age 11, my family relocated to New York City and that absolutely changed everything for me. I really came out of my shell when exposed to so many new things and ideas. Once I picked up a guitar at age 14 and started combining my two loves of writing and music, I never again questioned what I wanted to do in life. I moved back home at 15 and finished my last couple of years of high school online to start commuting to Nashville for writing sessions, voice lessons, and other music-related opportunities. As soon as I turned 18, I moved to Nashville full-time to commit everything to my career path and began taking…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator