“Giving Should Not Be About The Redemption Of The Giver, But About The Liberation Of The Receiver”

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global
Published in
13 min readJun 28, 2018

--

With Andrew Zimmern, Chef, Anthropologist, Social Justice Advocate and Global Thought Leader

“Giving is not about the redemption of the giver, it’s about the liberation of the receiver. Robert Egger said that. And while I believe that service to others is the key to happiness and peace of mind, it has a selfish rabbit hole into which it’s easy to fall down. Service work might have the unintended benefit of keeping me right sized BUT the moment I think it’s all about me, I’m doomed. At the end of the day we care for others first by offering dignity and respect. We also need to be willing to do it because there are others in need. It’s that simple.”

I had the pleasure to interview four-time James Beard Award-winning TV personality, chef, writer and teacher, Andrew Zimmern. Andrew is regarded as one of the most versatile and…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator