“Go Out Of Your Way To Help A Fellow Female Attain Her Dream” With Amy G.

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global
Published in
12 min readMar 6, 2018

--

Words of Wisdom with Amy G., of NBC Sports Bay Area

I had the pleasure of interviewing Amy Gutierrez, more commonly known as Amy G. in the Bay Area where she resides and works. She’s a 4-time emmy-award winning sports reporter and a multi emmy-nominated sports producer who covers the San Francisco Giants for NBC Sports Bay Area. She’s also the best selling author of Smarty Marty’s Got game, which brings a girl character into the spotlight of the male-dominated world of baseball. She’s entering her 11th season covering the Giants, has been married to her Sports Journalist husband Paul, for 17 years and is Mom to Zach (13) and Grace (10).

What is your “backstory”?

When I look back at my childhood, it’s no surprise I ended up doing what I do today. Baseball is a huge part of my family. My paternal great-grandfather played semi-pro ball in Cleveland, OH. His daughter, my grandmother, may qualify as the biggest baseball fan EVER. Born in 1923, a time when women expressing their love and knowledge of the game wasn’t exactly common-place, she could discuss strategy with the best of “him”. Admittedly, she was a Dodgers fan, but a bigger fan of the “game”, so we let that slide. My father, a pitcher, and a damn good one received a scholarship to…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator