“Go With Your Gut” 5 Leadership Lessons with Kylie Carlson, CEO, The International Academy of Wedding & Event Planning

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global
Published in
10 min readMar 6, 2018

--

I had the pleasure of interviewing Kylie Carlson, CEO of the International Academy of Wedding and Event Planning. With six locations globally, the Academy boasts an internationally recognized accreditation program that brings professional training to wedding planners, designers and stylists. Kylie is also the founder of the International Wedding Trend Report and Wedding Business Magazine.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory”?

I started life as a classical musician playing piano and violin studying at the Royal College of Music Junior Department in London. Although it is not what I ended up doing for a living, it without a doubt was the main thing that helped me develop some of the key skills needed by an entrepreneur.

From as young as 6, I spent up to 4 hours a day practicing my instruments, and that was on top of my school work. I happily missed out on social occasions if it gave me the opportunity to play or be part of my local orchestra. It taught me how to be disciplined and focused, amongst many other things. It also taught me that it really is 10% talent and 90% hard work that makes you successful.

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator