How to Become a “Something” at Any Age

(It’s truly never too late!)

Elizabeth B. Crook
Thrive Global
3 min readOct 10, 2018

--

image via unsplash.com (rawpixel)

Do you ever feel it might get too late to do those things that challenge you and are fun, rewarding, and stimulating?

At one of my first post-college jobs, I was a secretary at an ad agency in midtown Manhattan. I had a degree from a prestigious university, but back then, no matter where you went to school, women were either teachers, nurses, flight attendants or secretaries. Just get your foot in the door, they used to tell us. And show them what you can do.

Of course, my male contemporaries were being sent to management training programs.

I recall wishing I were a “something” — doctor, lawyer, engineer — rather than a secretary, but I felt like my opportunity to have a career in anything interesting had passed me by. I was 24 years old. It’s easy to laugh at that perspective now, but over throughout my now long career, I have heard people from 24 to 74 say, It’s too late.

Here’s the truth: It is never too late.

After being a secretary, I got a job in sales (the first woman hired for that role); joined the staff of Planned Parenthood; organized and trained volunteers to be speakers for schools, churches and community groups; had a brief stint as a public information officer in the Tennessee State Department of Public Health; and went back to grad school at night and on weekends.

By that time I was 30. At that point, I moved to Latin America and became bilingual. I created a cultural adaptation program for the American Embassy, developed a fund-raising program for a national literacy campaign and grew two companies!

By that time I was 42, and that’s when I received a call from an international headhunter looking for someone to start a chain of doughnut franchises. Who me? I had no food experience, no consumer products experience, no franchise experience, and I don’t even like doughnuts!

“There are no experts in this country,” he told me. “We are looking for people with a record of success doing things that have never been done before.”

His words took my breath away. I had finally become a “something” after all. Not only that? I was considered an expert.

From then on, I knew that although we invent and reinvent ourselves many times, we are in fact building a repertoire of experiences that are creating cumulative expertise.

That is something that only happens if you give yourself time to experiment.

And you can experiment whether you are 24, 30, 42, or 70.

After all, if not now, when?

Experimenting as you get older means not having to follow someone else’s rules.

Getting older means the risk is less because, by this stage in life, we have nothing to prove to anyone but ourselves.

For the past 25 years, I have been a business strategist, but I didn’t take my first course in facilitation until I was 50.

I didn’t learn to downhill ski until I was 55.

I started a weekly blog at 64.

I published my first book at 71.

At 72, I am planning on several more books!

Go ahead! Surprise yourself by giving yourself the permission to reinvent yourself. You have nothing to lose, and there’s so much fun to be had!

Looking for more resources to support your personal growth? Download a free chapter from Live Large: The Achiever’s Guide to What’s Next HERE.

--

--

Elizabeth B. Crook
Thrive Global

Author of “Live Large: The Achiever’s Guide to What’s Next”