How To Give Yourself More Breaks

Make Everyday Earth Day

Danielle Wolter Nolan
Thrive Global
3 min readApr 23, 2018

--

For most of us in the Western Hemisphere spring has sprung, flowers are blooming, the birds are chirping and warmer weather is finally emerging from a long cold winter. This April 22nd is the 48th celebration of Earth Day, for some people that means checking out what activities are going on their town. Here in Indianapolis, we have an entire festival of over 120 exhibitors, music, a 5k run/walk, etc. Our adventure company also participates in the festivities, we guide a women’s backpacking event in Indiana the weekend of Earth Day and are also guiding free hikes throughout the city this month.

Photo by Irina Kostenich via Unsplash

It’s great that our city and many other cities and organizations across the country recognize this day to get outside and enjoy the great outdoors, but how do we instill this not just one day but everyday of our lives?

I personally know that spending time outdoors is something that is vital to my health and wellness. Winters in Indiana, especially this one can be long, cold, and grey. A couple years ago Kate (my wife) and I started a challenge, 30 minutes outside for 30 days — we started it January 1st and posted about our progress on social media. Starting in the dead of winter was part of the challenge and it was harder than it sounded even for us being already very outdoorsy. Although what we experienced was profound, in more ways than we imagined. We had more energy, clarity, I felt stronger and healthier, and was less anxious and stressed. The best part of the challenge for us was some of our friends saw what we were doing and were motivated to do the challenge themselves.

It can be hard to find the time, energy, and motivation to unplug, step outside and just take a walk. When we started the challenge it become part of our daily routine so there was never a question of whether we should or shouldn’t go outside. Sometimes when I am really busy I tell myself that I shouldn’t take a break, I’ll work through my lunch, and into the evening. When I get into this pattern I start seeing the signs: irritability, anxiousness, loss of energy, etc. I started asking myself a few questions to check in to make sure I am making time to take breaks, get outside and unplug. There are a few questions below that can help you identify if you are in need of a break.

When was the last time you took a walk outside alone?

When was the last time you took a break from technology?

When was the last time you sat quietly and just focused on your breathing?

Photo by Mitchell Orr via Unsplash

If you are struggling to find an answer for even one of these questions it could be time for you to look at your schedule and see why you don’t have time in the day to give back to yourself.

Since our 30 days for 30 minutes challenge we have continued to challenge ourselves to get outside, in some way everyday. When I find myself saying I just don’t have time today, I know I need to reevaluate my schedule and commitments. Like Tony Robbins has said, “If you don’t have 10 f-ing minutes for your life you don’t have a life”.

I hope this Earth Day weekend you are able to get outside and put more breaks into your daily schedule. Ask yourself the questions, live better and become the best version of yourself.

--

--

Danielle Wolter Nolan
Thrive Global

Danielle is a yogi adventure guide and wilderness leader, she and her wife founded DNK Presents and made a women’s adventure film, Live Adventurously.