Tackle The Student Life While Being An Artist With Kate Cosentino

Keith Cullen
Thrive Global
Published in
6 min readSep 27, 2018

--

When you think about being an artist and also, managing to be a student at the same time could make your face cringe up. Having to tackle two important paths in your life while trying to assure you don’t lose your mind could be demanding, especially when one of them assists with implementing income. Since the late 1970s, studies have reflected that one out of five students works year-round. Then, about one-quarter of the students who do work, also have a full-time job while having a load of student work. So, what does it look like for a professional artist who tours, performs gigs, and is also a full-time student? We recently interviewed one who does exactly this but also, knows how to balance wisely for a stressfree workflow.

With over 12 years of experience performing in front of live audiences, Kate Cosentino steps up to the plate to move listeners with her music. Kate comes from Kansas City, but just like any other music aficionado, she transitioned to Nashville, TN and is currently a music business and songwriting student at Belmont University. Continuing to strengthen her experience, Kate interns as an audio engineer at Drive-By Studios. Before venturing into the busy student life, Kate’s debut EP Smart featured an award-winning track in the UK Songwriting Contest Under 18 Category- ‘Just Remember.’ Kate Cosentino’s mission is to bring listener’s to their raw emotions either tears, dance, develop a new vision, or laughter. With a pile of workload as a student and full-time artist, it’s easy to question, how does she do it all? We had a chance to interview the grinding artist to get advice and tips for other’s who might be in the same shoes.

Listen to Kate’s Tunes While You Read Her Interview:

What stage are you in your career and how long have you been publishing music?

I have been performing and writing music since the third grade. I’ve performed in a variety of venues from tiny ice cream shops to stadiums. I released my first album in 7th grade, an EP in my sophomore year of high school, and some since then.

What’s your experience been like to date as an artist?

Artistry is embedded in my being. I’d say the most magical and fulfilling part of my artist career thus far has been performing my music and having people come up to me afterward and tell me my music told their story or moved them. Some of the wonderful experiences as an artist include performing in Belfast, Northern Ireland, opening for Tim McGraw at Country Stampede, writing a song for the American Girl Doll company that is featured in their products, performing it also in front of young girls, having a choreographer develop a dance to my songs that were conducted by the Nashville Ballet, touring ice cream shops in Kansas City for a summer, and performing my song “Dirt On It” at Kansas City Pride.

We understand you’re in school- what are you currently majoring in and how much longer do you have left until you graduate?

I am double majoring in Music Business and Songwriting at Belmont University. I just started my sophomore year of college, so I have two and a half years.

Could you take us on a journey with you on how your schedule looks like on a daily or weekly basis?

In the current place I am in with school, gigging is on the back burner. I do the occasional show because it fulfills me and gets my music out there, but I try to remind myself that this is a season of learning and working on other aspects of my artistry.

CC: Kate Cosentino

I am enrolled in classes that are immovable parts of my schedule. I try to co-write 3–5 times a week depending on the weight of my homework and tests I have. I attend events related to the Belmont University Songwriters Association, which I am the president of this year. For that, I plan rounds, gigs, speaker events, mixers, and much more. I make space for studio time where I learn about audio engineering and making tracks. I work as an assistant to a booking agent in the office or remotely Monday, Wednesday or Friday. I do leave space for exercise, food, sleep, writing, socializing, homework, practicing, etc.

What did your initial challenges look like when you started managing your career and school at the same time?

The biggest struggle is always saying no. I often forget to schedule in the essentials like laundry or sleep. I also forget to plan the time to breathe.
I am continually questioning if what I am spending my time on is the most productive use of my time. As a musician, so many people take so many avenues so the comparison can bum you out.

What tools did you use to overcome those specific challenges?

My mother. Having someone in my life to talk it out with when I feel like I’m not using my time efficiently has been so crucial to my sanity. We are our own biggest critics, so it’s good to have others to lift you up and remind you of what you are doing and to remind you to sit back and enjoy the journey.

Are there any daily practices you partake in to assure your productivity isn’t affect negatively?

I try to start my morning with my most pressing tasks. It keeps me from worrying for a whole day. I don’t let myself sit in front of a screen for more than an hour and a half to two hours. I get up and move or change tasks to keep my mind fresh.

Since you have a piled up schedule, do you ever feel left out on activities you can’t partake in with your friends or family?

Fear of missing out is a constant struggle. I feel blessed that my life is full with things I love to do, then I don’t feel like I’m going to a ton of things that I’d kill to get out of to do friend/family related things. However, I do try to prioritize people I care about in my life! I will twist my crazy schedule to make it work.

How do you make sure to have a work-school-life balance?

Constant check-ins. I have to check in with myself weekly or more frequently and ask myself: Am I happy/fulfilled? How can I use my time to feel accomplished in as many areas of my life as possible?

Right now, school is my priority. Sometimes I have to remind myself that this is the one time in my life I get to be in school and have to let go and allow it to be the main bulk of my time.

Watch Kate Cosentino’s Official Music Video “18”

If another artist who does the same thing as you with school and work, and they ask, how do you do it? What’s the best advice you would give them?

The best advice I can give them is to remember you can’t do it all, and that’s ok. Also, you need input to create output. Living life, enjoying friends or a T.V. show, going to a class: that is all input. If you focus all of your time into output like cranking out songs and playing gigs, you have no fuel for new creation so make sure you allow yourself time for input. And enjoy it.

If you can think of one thing that will always be your motivator to continue to strive, what would it be?

Make meaningful music, move people and make mini-me proud.
Knowing my music could open a door for me to connect with others, or could affect someone in the way my musical influences have touched me, will always push me to keep creating. As a little girl, I dreamed of being a musician that moves and inspires others.

Tell us about any new or upcoming projects your working on that your excited about.

Right now, I am focused on writing and honing in on my craft and school. I’m excited to work on my musical chops, repertoire and recording skills and hopefully put out some newly recorded music before next fall.

Follow Kate Cosentino: Website Facebook TwitterInstagram

--

--

Keith Cullen
Thrive Global

LA Based Irish Singer/Songwriter. Founding artist at @Steereo. Passionate about health & wellness.