“Making Television is Compromise, Compromise, Compromise” 5 Insider Tips With TV Host Ryan Pyle

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global
Published in
9 min readApr 26, 2018

--

“The more television I host, the more interest I have in also producing and directing and when we put together bigger projects, that means a lot of compromise. Working closer with bigger broadcasters and corporate partners means having to juggle a lot of demands and a lot of different visions for a project. It’s important to make sure everyone feels “heard” and all the partners have input in the project. Doing all of that, accepting those compromises, without watering-down your original idea is an absolute skill.”

I had the pleasure of interviewing Ryan Pyle, host of Extreme Treks on BBC Asia, and Tough Rides on Travel Channel.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! I’d love to hear your “backstory”.

Born in Toronto, Canada, I spent my early years close to home. After obtaining a degree in International Politics from the University of Toronto in 2001, I realized my lifelong dream and traveled to China on an…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator