I Have No Purpose in Life, and Therein Lies My Purpose

A Chronic Voice
Thrive Global
Published in
5 min readJun 17, 2018

--

I Have No Purpose in Life, and Therein Lies My Purpose
“What is the purpose of my life?” It’s a timeless question that can be especially disturbing for those with chronic illness. Here’s how I make sense of it.

“What is the purpose of my life?” It’s a timeless, eternal question that has plagued or intrigued humanity since the beginning of time. It is a thought that can be disturbing to me especially when I’m in the throes of extreme pain. What is the point to all this? Any sort of happiness I gain isn’t worth such torture. As the years go by, many of us with chronic illness sink into a state of depression, because physical pain always affects you on a mental level as well. It is never exclusive.

This question scares me on some days, makes me anxious, confused, angry or sad on others, but mostly I come up blank. Perhaps I get a glimmer of inspiration from time to time, but it never lasts. Some people pursue their passions with vigour and it keeps them stimulated and going, but chronic pain is heavy. It weighs you down against your will and wishes.

Pin It:

One of my favourite quotes of all time!

The Circle of Purpose

But a strange thought rose within my mind one ordinary day: “I don’t have a purpose in life, and therein lies my purpose”. What does this mean, to me at least?

--

--

A Chronic Voice
Thrive Global

Articulating lifelong illness through various perspectives.