“Play With People Who Are Better Than You” 10 Insider Tips With Vocalist Sivan Arbel

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global
Published in
12 min readApr 5, 2018

--

“Play with people who are better than you. That way they make you sound better, you get inspired and you grow together. The most memorable example I have is actually from music school. I knew exactly what I wanted to perform for my exam and I was too shy to ask the “better musicians” to play with me. After the exam one of the teacher’s feedback was: “You were great but next time it might be better to have a better accompaniment.”

I had the pleasure of interviewing “Sivan Arbel”, an Israeli vocalist, bandleader, composer, arranger and educator based in Brooklyn, NYC. “Sivan Arbel”, born in Israel with a deep passion for music and dance, performs infectious jaw-dropping jazz with a vibrant and distinctive music. Sivan puts her personal stamp on vocals with a scatting-instrumental-like feeling and arrangements, along with distinctive music that draws on a mixture of fresh jazz, influenced by her Israeli/Mediterranean/Middle-Eastern musical roots, and lots of rhythmic grooves to match her onstage dance motions; which…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator