“Start With Seeking A Mentor” With Alex Valencia

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global
Published in
5 min readAug 7, 2018

--

“Start with seeking a mentor, even if you have to pay him or her for their experience. Learning from the mistakes others have made in business can save you a ton of time and money.”

I had the pleasure to interview Alex Valencia, co-owner and director of business development and marketing at We Do Web Content

Yitzi: Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your “backstory”?

Thank you! I am humbled by the opportunity to contribute to Thrive Global. My name is Alex Valencia. I am the co-owner and director of business development and marketing at We Do Web Content (WDWC). My team and I help our clients achieve an increase in quality prospects through search engine optimization, web content, and public relations. Prior to joining WDWC, I lead the southeast region in wholesale mortgage lending for Citibank for three years, and managed the national correspondent lending for two years. I worked in the mortgage industry until the real estate bubble bust in 2009. Inevitably, Citibank laid off a vast majority of its residential lending division and I was forced to reinvent my career. Simultaneous, my wife, Yvette Valencia, was busy getting her new business, We Do Web Content, off the ground. To add to the fun, we were also semi-new parents, with a 2-year-old and 9-month-old at home.

After the lay off, I decided to care for our sons fulltime for the next several months while I planned my next steps. Looking back, it was a tremendous blessing to have that time with my boys. Their fascination with life was the distraction I needed and they became my motivation to jump head first into an industry I knew nothing about — tech.

I stepped into the role of business development at We Do Web Content when my wife asked me to help grow the company’s revenue. I successfully grew our business’s sales from 5k to 40K over a nine-month period soon after restructuring our service offerings. I never imagined myself as an entrepreneur, not even when I was selling bracelets for $2 a pop in elementary school, but it has been a thrilling ride. Almost 10 years later, We Do Web Content continues to thrive and is a formidable leader in online marketing for law firms.

Yitzi: Can you share the funniest or most interesting story that happened to you since you began leading your company?

I once sang Friends in Low Places by Garth Brooks at a Karaoke bar to impress several business prospects after a conference, but ended up clearing the room a couple of minutes into the song. I have since returned to my day job and given up my aspirations of being country singer forever.

Yitzi: So how exactly does your company help people?

We Do Web Content offers a proven process and the resources to produce quality web content for law firms. Our ideal clients buy our service because we assume the burden of finding skilled web writers and training them to write legal content. Additionally, we take the guesswork out of the type of content the law firm should create, the topics they should cover, and how to craft their message.

Yitzi: What do you think makes your company stand out? Can you share a story?

We Do Web Content is unique for two reasons. First, we are transparent in all that we do, sharing results with our clients every step of the way. Second, we get to know our clients before starting on their projects. It is our priority to understand their customers’ pain points so we can craft a voice and message that is unique to their law firms. Because our strategies are tailored to each client, we help them avoid spending time and money on marketing initiatives that are unnecessary or that will go unnoticed.

Yitzi: None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are?

My wife, and some great books.

Yitzi: How have you used your success to bring goodness to the world?

I feel good about the work our company does. The SEO and web content we produce for our clients helps to educate survivors of tragic accidents and puts in front of them the law firm that could best assist them in seeking justice, getting back on their feet financially, and regaining normalcy in their lives.

Yitzi: What are your “5 Things I Wish Someone Told Me Before I Became CEO” and why. (Please share a story or example for each.)

I will start with seeking a mentor, even if you have to pay him or her for their experience. Learning from the mistakes others have made in business can save you a ton of time and money.

Second, the days of making a deal with a handshake are gone. Get everything in writing, but before you put anything in writing, discuss the venture with your business mentor or coach.

Third, be careful how much information you share about your business’s process and strategies with others. While I believe there are more good people in this world than there are bad, I have been burned one too many times after sharing what I now know was too much information.

Fourth, watch out for the months of the year with an extra payroll. They have the ability to bite you in ass when you are least expecting it.

Fifth, invest in your business and its employees. Investing in your own marketing and branding in a digital world is key and continued education for you and your employees shows appreciation and promotes ideas and culture.

Yitzi: Some of the biggest names in Business, VC funding, Sports, and Entertainment read this column. Is there a person in the world, or in the US whom you would love to have a private breakfast or lunch with, and why? He or she might just see this :-)

Tony Robbins would be awesome. Recently went to a one day event he hosted and a few hours with him is likely to turn any mind and business on its head and grow.

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator