“Success Isn’t Found in School” With Founder and CEO Josh Skolnick

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global
Published in
6 min readDec 22, 2017

--

By Yitzi Weiner and Casmin Wisner

“School simply wasn’t my thing and I continually struggled to convince teachers of ‘my big picture,’ and what I felt was the right path for me.”

I had the great pleasure to interview Josh Skolnick, founder and CEO of Monster Tree Service. The company was founded in 2008. Starting as a small tree service company serving communities in southeast Pennsylvania, Skolnick used credit cards to spend $75,000 he didn’t have on marketing programs such as direct mail marketing and online advertising programs. Within six months, Skolnick paid off his credit card debt entirely through business that came from direct referrals and those marketing programs. In the years since, Monster Tree Service has blossomed into a national franchise that continues to grow under Skolnick’s fearless leadership. Today, Monster Tree Service has 41 units nationwide and generates more than $11 million in system-wide sales.

Thank you so much for doing this with us! What is your backstory?

I was a very active child entrepreneurially and physically. I was involved in many sports leagues locally, along with Cub Scouts and…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator