Swap These 5 Statements And Watch Your Life Change

Kathleen Kear
Thrive Global
Published in
4 min readSep 23, 2017
Image courtesy of Gabriel Sanchez

Often without realising it we create stories around who we think we are and where our life is going. These stories can give us comfort, a reason why things should stay as they are but is that what you want or is there something you want to change? Are your stories trapping you or holding you back? Are they based on a human brain and it’s fear or are they based on fact?

The first step to finding out, is to become mindful about what you think and say. For example I’d spent years saying “I can’t dance, I’m too self conscious and have no rhythm”. My life took a difficult turn and knowing that something had to change, I plucked up the courage and attended a class. 6 years later, I now spend every spare minute training in a class, spinning on the dance floor at a party or planning my next event. I hear these stories every day, limitations that people put on themselves without even realising. If you keep telling yourself a story, in the end you’re going to believe it.

These stories often manifest themselves in defensive statements that we make about ourselves. Here are a few of the most common, that I have come across.

“I can’t do it”

How often do you hear this or even think it yourself?

I can’t go up in my career, I can’t go to that class, I can’t lose weight. What would happen if every time we thought this, instead we asked “How can I do it?” Tony Robbins says that it is not a lack of resources that holds us back but a lack of resourcefulness. Listen out for the times that you say “I can’t” and then ask what prompted that statement; fact? Fear? Limiting beliefs?

Image courtesy of Julia Caesar

“I can’t afford it”

I spent my life saying this, until once, while listening to a podcast I heard the words “How can I afford it?”. This doesn’t mean go out and get a credit card or dive into debt. It means really look at what you want, what you have, what you spend and figure it out. Last year I saw a big seminar being advertised and was desperate to attend but as soon as I saw the price, it was immediately out of the question! It played on my mind constantly how much I’d learn and gain from the seminar and then I said “I’m going to give myself 1 month to find £800” and that’s exactly what I did! I found jewellery that I no longer wanted, I sold items I didn’t want, I cut back my spending and without getting into debt, I attended my seminar and it changed my life!

“I always screw up”

Fear of failure is in all of us at some point but with training, that mindset can change. When I first meet a new student I tell them that I love failure, I love mistakes and problems! I tell them, truthfully, that it is only through failure that we really learn, step up and take it to the next level. It is through ‘screwing up’ that we remember and gain a deeper understanding. Instead of fearing mistakes, try asking yourself “What have I learnt when it’s not worked in the past and what depth has it added to my character?”

Image courtesy of Keenan Constance

“People will always hurt me”

This is one that I’ve told myself time and time again. Friendships and relationships are always changing, sometimes growing stronger other times not.

Allowing the walls to come down and letting people in, does sometimes result in pain but when that happens it is the pain that we often focus on. When a friendship breaks down it is easy to believe that all of our friendships have broken down and nobody can be trusted. Words like “everyone hates me” float around us when in fact we are only focusing on the one that ended and not all of the friendships that are still great!

The story that everyone will hurt you is dangerous, it stops us connecting and forming close bonds. Maybe those are the times that we should ask “How many people have loved me and treated me well?”

“It’ll never change”

What will never change? Finances? Waistline? Happiness? Stress? Are you basing your statement on fact? If there is a change that you want to make, don’t let your mind or your story hold you back! Step out of your normal environment, walk in the park or sit on the beach and write down the changes that you want to make and then ask “How can I make it change?”

Stories are embedded into our thoughts every day, it’s natural human behaviour but it is enlightening to listen to the stories that you have and to discover if your stories help you or hold you back.

I challenge you to find out.

Image courtesy of Thomas Kelley

Originally published at www.imustnow.com on September 23, 2017.

--

--

Kathleen Kear
Thrive Global

Writer, feminist, equine manager, fundraiser for the Mariposa Trust. Passionate and determined human.