The Great Divide

Dr. Shanelle R. Benson Reid
Thrive Global
Published in
1 min readDec 1, 2017

She was in tears when she entered my office. I stopped everything and stood, waiting for her to tell me what she needed. She paused. She wanted documentation. She was being called into court to prove she was fit to parent. I was confused; I am a doctor but not that kind of doctor. She went on…

Her ex-boyfriend was suing her for full custody of her their son. She was so upset. She needed information about her son’s academic concerns and the services we provide to the family. I packaged the necessary information and gave her the envelope but she was not ready to leave so we sat.

Her hands covered her face and she could not stop crying. Her nails are always nice and well manicured. She’s a lovely, young lady, not a hair out of place and always dressed. But she was falling to apart today. She needed to talk, so I listened (read more).

--

--

Dr. Shanelle R. Benson Reid
Thrive Global

Dr. Shanelle R. Benson Reid, President and CEO of ACCESS Global Enterprises, LLC. is a Consultant, Coach, Author and Professional Speaker.