The Inspiring Backstory of Tony Fernandes, CEO of AirAsia

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global
Published in
5 min readSep 20, 2017

--

“It’s essential to run at an opportunity when you see it, especially if it’s unexpected. I was turned down a job. As I was leaving the interview I saw Virgin founder Richard Branson. Instinctively, I knew this was a make-or-break moment so I approached him. We had coffee, he made me an offer and the rest is history”

I had the great pleasure to interview Tony Fernandes. In 2001, Tony Fernandes bought debt-ridden AirAsia for one Malaysian Ringgit (about 24 US cents), with a vision to make flying accessible for everyone. Fast forward 16 years, and the international, no frills airline now flies over 56.6 million passengers to over 120 destinations.

Yitzi: What is your “backstory”?

Tony: After graduating from the London School of Economics with a degree in accounting, I spent several years at Virgin Communications in London, eventually becoming financial controller. I soon jumped over to Warner Music Group, and served as the Southeast Asian regional vice-president for nine years. I loved entertainment, but I also enjoyed flying, which was considered an unattainable luxury for many in the…

--

--

Yitzi Weiner
Thrive Global

A “Positive” Influencer, Founder & Editor of Authority Magazine, CEO of Thought Leader Incubator