What You Want Also Wants You

Susan Browne
Thrive Global
Published in
3 min readFeb 21, 2019

A story of attraction

I travelled to India lately. It was kind of a big deal, going just with my husband and not the kids. There was a lot to organise. But it was exhilarating.

One of my sons asked if I could buy him a lamp, like a genie lamp. He had one years ago we bought on holiday in Tunisia, but it was broken and gone for a long time. I said I would do my best.

We travelled to Bangalore, Mysore and different parts of Goa. I was sure that in the famous Anjuna market there would be his lamp. But not so. One seller promised to get it from his shop for 9 am, so we came back, but he hadn’t had time to get it. Another seller had two tiny lamps. I knew these were smaller than what my son had in mind. I bought them anyway.

At the next village, there was another shop that had lamps. But this time they were big and clunky looking. Not the exquisite lamp I knew he was looking for. Finally, it was time to go home. We flew via Mumbai and had a few hours to browse the shops at the airport.

I came upon a souvenir shop and began looking for the lamp but to no avail. Elephants and other statues in abundance, but no lamp. I was losing hope, and then it occurred to me that for him to want this lamp, and for me to want to find it, it simply had to exist. Otherwise, according to the law of attraction, we wouldn’t want it. In one of my favourite books of all time — The Power by Rhonda Byrne — she says that what you want also wants you. So right there in the fluorescent-lit shiny floored airport, I decided to change my frequency to one of curiosity. If the lamp was undoubtedly here, then where could it be?

I started in the shop I had just given up on. I asked an assistant. She looked at me quizzically, at first confused, and then something lit up in her eyes.

‘Like a genie lamp?’

‘Yes,’ I couldn’t stop the smile from spreading across my face.

‘Yesterday, just one came in. So strange,’ she took me to the back of the shop to a shelf I had already searched.

Behind some other items, as though hidden, was the most beautiful lamp. It was perfect. Of course, I bought it. And I remembered the saying again ‘what you want also wants you.’ So for those of you wanting to manifest something, my advice is to lighten up and be curious.

Of course, there are other spiritual laws to consider. Highest good, karma, soul path and the like. But relax and have faith that what you want or something even better is yours. It’s out there trying to find you right now.

--

--

Susan Browne
Thrive Global

Life coach and author of Angel EFT. Receive her free angel visualisation at bit.ly/freeangelvis. Tap with her on YouTube, ‘Angel EFT Lady.’