Who Are You?

Look deeper than your roles to find out.

Heidi Hill
Thrive Global
2 min readMay 30, 2018

--

Who are you is a question we tend to answer with roles. We answer with our job, our relationships, our hobbies. That is just one part of us. Often, more of a description of what we do, rather than who we are. Who are you at your core? Who are you even if those roles disappear?

I am at middle age, a common time to be connected to birth and death. I have listened to some beautiful memorial services in which character traits are described so well. And being in the presence of babies, what stands out most is their joy and their alertness while taking the world in.

In the beginning and end of this life, we are described more by our character than by our roles.

I am pausing for a moment in life to question who I am beneath my roles.

I am a wise and gentle soul.

I am always learning.

I am a great listener.

I am a worrier.

I am letting go of worry.

I am replacing worry with trust

that everything can be worked out.

How would you answer the question, “Who are you at your core?”

Go ahead and respond quickly in your head or on paper.

If you answer with any negatives, how can you practice shifting your thinking and actions about that trait to positive?

Revisit this question to see that you are continually evolving into the person you want to be.

Originally published at www.everydayessays.com.

*If you appreciated this post, help others find it by forwarding it to a friend and sharing it on social media.

--

--

Heidi Hill
Thrive Global

I write to connect to a wise, soulful place, and to share what I’ve learned with you. Visit my blog at: www.everydayessays.com .