Why Men Shouldn’t Write Advice Columns

And what they should have written instead.

Annie Huang
Thrive Now!

--

Photo from A Smile A Day on Facebook

Dear Sheila,

First of all, I’m so sorry to hear what happened. It must have been extremely hard for you to experience what you did.

And I apologise for the inept response from my male colleague. I’m sure you didn’t write in to ask for advice about your car!

Now, let’s talk about what you really wanted to know. If I understand correctly, it boils down to the question, “Should I stay or should I leave?”

Related to that question is the question, “Is this relationship worth saving?”. And more to the point, “Do I want to save it?”

No Right or Wrong Answers

Before you answer any of those questions, please know that there are no right or wrong answers.

Don’t let your husband talk you into staying if you think the marriage is beyond saving, or you don’t want to save it. Also, forget what “everyone” would think. It’s not their marriage and happiness that are on the line. It’s yours.

Know that it’s your call. You alone can make that decision.

This certainly changes things, doesn’t it? Instead of feeling like a victim of what happened, you can take back control of your life…

--

--

Annie Huang
Thrive Now!

Recovering perfectionist. Refugee lawyer-turned-life coach.Embarking on her greatest adventure yet as a mum. www.LoveYourJourney.net | annie@loveyourjourney.net