Why I love to be a remote worker

A list of reasons why remote work is great for me

Stephan Dohrn
Thriving Remotely
3 min readJun 12, 2017

--

In the post How to become a Successful Remote Worker, I wrote about the preconceptions people have about remote work.

In this post I want to look at the bright side of things: what is the upside, the potential? Why would someone want to put in the work, deal with this resistance and become a remote worker?

For those of you who already are working remotely (as well as for myself) this is a pep talk reminding us, why we chose this set-up. It is a post to go to when I need to remember why it is worth it.

Here are my top reasons in no particular order:

Flexibility

I can organise my time and space they way I want to. I am my own boss, so I have probably even more flexibility than someone who works remotely as an employee, even though I do have to answer to clients.

What are the benefits?

  • I can go invisible (aka offline), when I need to focus, or when I need a break.
  • I can do appointments when others cannot, e.g. doctors, running errands, etc. If you ever tried to go to a bank or post office in Brasil during lunch hour you know that going when nobody else can, means waiting much less.
  • I can pack a whole lot of different things into my day, so I can spend more of the time my kids are home with them doing their things instead of taking them to do grocery shopping or doing some of my other chores.
  • I can change scenery depending on my work, and if I want to see people or not: working from home one day, in a co-working the other, at a coffee-shop the next.

No Commute

I do not have to subject myself to hour-long car rides to get anywhere. Well, I do have to get my kids to school, so I do not completely escape it, but I do not have to deal with this every day like many people I know.

What are the benefits?

  • Saved time
  • No traffic stress — the №1 stress environment that gets at me!
  • No pollution — makes me feel good to know that I pollute less.

Life balance

You get to maximize work time and still spend a lot of time with family. It is more challenging to create a structure that supports that balance but once you have that structure, it is great!

What are the benefits?

  • I get to spend time with my kids when they are full of energy as supposed to when they are about to go to bed.
  • I can have extended lunch hours with colleagues and friends when I want to.
  • I could work out at times, when my body is not too tired to move. Note to self: need to work on this one!!!
  • I can tend to and talk to the terrace plants, when I need a nature boost! Or just sit out in the sun for a bit or go for a walk outside.

Productivity

You get to organize your work around the times you are most productive.

What are the benefits?

  • Nobody will judge you and try to make you follow the accepted rhythm! My work day is pretty much the same as a 9–5 employee’s not because someone told me to, but because this is what works for me. Others might get most stuff done in the early hours, again others late at night.
  • I focus better with Music… when my wife is not at home, nobody complains! When she is at home, I need to use headphones.

When I was searching for similar posts, I found this fun list of reasons why working from home is great.

And you? I’d love to see your benefits list!

Are you new to remote work and need help to get organized? I help you navigate this new world of work. Depending on your needs, I can help you improve your virtual meetings, communicate more effectively through email or in online team spaces, conduct difficult conversations, or lead a remote team.

Get coached on Coach.me

If you liked this article, click the💚 below so other people will see it here on Medium.

--

--

Stephan Dohrn
Thriving Remotely

Working with social impact leaders to build high-performing remote and hybrid teams without anxiety and burnout. www.sdohrn.com