Zen Living: Exploring Mindfulness Through Daily Meditation Practices

Phyllis Mackenzie
THRIVE TRIBE MAGAZINE
3 min readFeb 17, 2024

--

Daily meditation practices have been a transformative and enlightening experience for me. I started two months ago doing one morning meditation when I woke up and one right before bed, and what I can tell you in a few words is it’s a journey marked by self-discovery, inner peace, and a profound sense of connection with the present moment. Through the incorporation of meditation into my daily life, I’ve come to appreciate the beauty of mindfulness and its enriching impact on my overall well-being.

The practice of mindfulness, I’ve learned, begins with cultivating a deep awareness of the present moment. In a world often characterized by hurriedness and distraction, the practice of meditation has provided me with a sanctuary of stillness and tranquility. It’s a space where I can ground myself in the here and now, free from the pull of past regrets or future worries.

One of the most remarkable aspects of incorporating meditation into my daily routine has been the heightened sense of self-awareness it has afforded me. Through mindfulness meditation, I’ve been able to observe my thoughts and emotions with a gentle curiosity, gaining insight into the patterns of my mind and the nature of my inner experiences. This self-awareness has empowered me to navigate life’s challenges with greater clarity and equanimity.

Photo by Conscious Design on Unsplash

Meditation has also been a profound catalyst for cultivating a sense of inner calm and emotional resilience. By engaging in daily mindfulness practices, I’ve found myself better equipped to manage stress, anxiety, and the inevitable fluctuations of life. Through the cultivation of a peaceful state of mind, I’ve discovered an enduring wellspring of serenity that permeates my daily interactions and experiences.

Moreover, the practice of mindfulness has enriched my interpersonal relationships. By nurturing a state of present-moment awareness, I’ve found myself more attuned to the needs and experiences of others. This has paved the way for deeper connections, empathetic listening, and a genuine appreciation for the beauty of human connection.

Of course, it wasn’t just a smooth transition for me as there were moments of restlessness, periods of doubt, and times when maintaining a consistent practice seemed daunting. However, through patience, self-compassion, and a gentle commitment to my practice, I’ve found that even the smallest steps toward mindfulness have yielded profound and lasting benefits.

This adventure of exploring mindfulness through daily meditation practices has been a deeply enriching and transformative experience. It’s been marked by self-discovery, inner peace, and the cultivation of a profound connection with the present moment. As we embrace the practice of meditation, let’s remember that mindfulness is not a destination, but a continuous journey of self-exploration and growth.

--

--

Phyllis Mackenzie
THRIVE TRIBE MAGAZINE

I am a versatile artist—a writer, director, journalist, and podcaster. I captivate with words, create cinematic experiences, uncover truths, & engage listeners.