Home Retrofit| Free of Fossil Fuels

Chosen for a Pilot Project Reducing My Home’s Emissions by 100%

How an opportunity appeared that was far beyond what I could have imagined!

Tamara Low
Earth Love
Published in
5 min readApr 2, 2024

--

Photo by Raze Solar on Unsplash

A few years ago, my unwavering passion to get my home off fossil fuels was in full swing.

I researched, contacted people and got quotes. I wrote about my reasons for doing so here:

When researching ground-source heat pumps (geothermal), I was told they would be too expensive and make a massive mess in the yard. So, I decided on an air-source heat pump. Scott at Applewood Heating and Appliance was an integral person who spent endless time with me, making my dream a reality!

I was immediately told I would need to upgrade this 1972 home’s electrical panel from 100 amps to 200 amps to accommodate the air-sourced heat pump, electric hot water tank, solar panels and electric car charger.

The main electric company in BC was pivotal in upgrading the electrical panel, but on…

--

--

Tamara Low
Earth Love

Learning to follow joy and welcome wholeness. I am a highly sensitive, deeply curious, Earth, dog, and deep connection lover.