Tell the Truth of Your Design

Trent Erwin
Through My Lens of Life

--

Even in literature and art, no man who bothers about originality will ever be original: whereas if you simply try to tell truth (without caring twopence how often it has been told before) you will, nine times out of ten, become original without ever having noticed it.” C. S. Lewis

C. S. Lewis is a boss. Let’s just admit that truth. I stumbled upon the quote above while I was reading some book. I don’t even think it was his work, just someone referencing his words.

I’ve been on this kick about authenticity. Being authentic to our nature and personality. Being who we are and not who others deem us to be.

And this quote helped me realize something beautiful. Here it is:

The more we stop trying to BE somebody and simply ARE somebody, the more original we will be to this world.

What’s the difference here? The “be somebody” is a striving. Just as Lewis says a man will never be original if he bothers himself with being original. Instead, the man who is most original is the man who doesn’t bother with trying at all.

I’m so fashioned to work harder, try harder and attempt more. Yet, if we want to be true to our nature and our design by God, all we have to do is embrace it.

Yeah, I believe it’s as simple as that.

We must embrace our originality rather than create it.

It’s when we give our originality a big bear hug that we find we’re most original. The greatest of embraces is that one.

I don’t know about you, but when I try to be original it’s always forced. I can always tell I’m acting out of character.

“If you simply try to tell truth…”

Hmm… that’s the turning point in Lewis’ point.

If we turn from trying to be original to trying to tell truth (and not worry about how it’s being told) then we’ll discover originality.

If we tell the truth of our hearts and our design, then we’ll be so incredibly original. The truth of who we are is what this world needs. This world needs the truth of our existence, not some other fake existence that we try to formulate.

Here’s the truth of my design that I’ve discovered in 23 years of being on this earth:

  • Writing brings me to life
  • Asking people questions to discover who they are gets me amped
  • Counseling people is a gift I’ve discovered and I thoroughly enjoy it
  • Photography & video are beautiful and I love producing both
  • Teaching is fun
  • Leading groups comes natural

If I became a doctor, neglecting all of the above, then I wouldn’t let the truth of my soul run free in this world. I’d be an unoriginal somebody.

However, if you write out the truth of your design and medicine is on your list, then you probably need to be the doctor or nurse or pharmacist. That’s probably the truth of your design and the world needs that, not something else.

So… I guess it ends with this question:

Are you living the truth of your design?

If you’re not, you can start today. Trust me, I have to remind myself on a constant basis what the truth of my design is, and then I have to choose to live it.

Resolve to discover what yours is and then choose to live it. We all want you to!!

Originally published at www.releasethesong.net on March 12, 2015.

--

--

Trent Erwin
Through My Lens of Life

Filmmaker by trade and journalist by training. I own and operate a small video production company. I’m inspired by entrepreneurship.