The Talking-on-The-Phone Algorithm

--

Especially useful for calling customer service.

Photo by Quino Al on Unsplash

Write a script out.

Rehearse the conversation.

Ask them to explain, and ask them what you need to do to resolve the issue.

Write it all down, and double-check that you’re doing what they said to do

Ask what to do if their instructions don’t work:

  • If you can’t help me, who can and how do I contact or reach them?
  • Can you follow up on this conversation with an email I can refer back to?
  • I understand that you’re busy, but this is why I need this: who do I talk to to make it happen?

If they answer “no” to sending an email, you tell them your diagnosis as a reason why you need it in writing (could suggest legal action re lack of accessibility)

--

--

Arianna Golden
Through the Eye of the Prism

She/Her. Chatelaine. Writer. Dreamer. Bioengineer. Designer. Witch. #ActuallyAutistic