STARTING ON THIRD

David Figueroa-Martinez
THOSE PEOPLE
Published in
3 min readDec 3, 2015

Imagine that we’re all playing the game of life, but it’s called baseball.

It’s America’s past time, after all, so why would we bother playing anything else? During this game, however, some of us end up playing by different rules. These rules were established long before any of us ever took the field, but still exist despite the fact that some of us dislike them.

What if you were constantly told that we were all playing on equal footing, but then realized that that wasn’t true. What would you do? For example, you notice that one set of players started the game off on third base. They were never forced to take a single pitch when they were up to bat. The umpire simply gave them the opportunity to start the game at third and work their way home from there.

What would you think?

As the game went on, you also noticed that others were told to start at first and second base. Some were even issued do-overs when they messed up. More importantly, you noticed that when another group of people approached the batter’s box, before a single pitch was thrown, the umpire issued two strikes and a warning simply on the strength of the way the batter looked or where they came from.

Would that be fair?

Would that be just?

That is the most basic way that I can explain White Privilege.

Being on third base by no means insures that the player is going to make it home, but the odds of her making it home are much higher. It doesn’t mean that the people who benefit from being awarded third base status are bad people. It doesn’t mean that they didn’t have to work hard. It doesn’t mean that their success should be devalued, but just that their head-start should be acknowledged.

Much like it doesn’t mean that people that start off with two strikes and a warning shouldn’t be looked down upon. They are playing the game with rules imposed on them through no fault of their own. Commend them for just getting on first when the deck was stacked against them.

How would you fare under those rules?

Would you be as successful if those penalties applied to you for simply existing?

Now also understand that when I finally make it to third or, better yet, home, you should congratulate me — wholeheartedly.

Don’t judge me for how I played the game.

Don’t turn your nose up at me because my uniform is dirty, or possibly torn, because I had to work my way there.

Don’t judge me because I hit a blooper and barely got on first.

Yeah, it wasn’t the greatest hit, but I got there. I stole second with a head-first slide. The technique wasn’t what you would have used, but who cares. When I finally got to third, I rushed home on a sacrifice fly and no one was going to deny me.

No one.

I slammed into the catcher as he caught the throw home. The collision was violent, it was rough, but I don’t regret what I had to do to get there.

I played the game how I had to so don’t bother casting judgement.

Because I don’t care.

Write a Response below. (Here’s how.)

Are you one of THOSE PEOPLE? Write with us. StopThosePeople@Gmail.com.

--

--